Writing a short story set in Bognor

Looks simple, doesn’t it. But I’ve just tried to do it and now I know how difficult it is. Even so, I’m going to pass on the news about it, as I think there are a lot of you out there that might well be interested in taking on the challenge.

And it gave me a very special challenge, because the only place that I could find a copy of this leaflet, was my local library, which I haven’t visited for a very long time, because I can only walk about 20 steps and then I have to sit down and the library is rather more than 20 steps away!

But hooray and thanks to my very special granddaughter come amanuensis, I now have a copy in my hands. Yesterday she drove me to Willowhale Library, which was my old haunt, so that I could pick up a copy of this leaflet and we welcomed by a lovely, smiling librarian I didn’t know. Such as the length of time that I haven’t been able to get there. And oh, it was lovely. Because it had hardly changed at all.

I came home clutching my copy of the leaflet and feeling I’d visited a very old friend.

And found myself another challenge. I have written the odd short story now and then, but never one as particular and short as the one asked for in this leaflet. 800 words is very little for me. I feel like a parrot cramped inside a cage made for two budgerigars. How very odd this writing game is and how very rewarding it can be.

Have fun all you short story writers out there!

Leave a comment