Oh, I do like to be beside the seaside!

So it won’t surprise you to know that that’s where I’ve been for the past 5 days. Not strolling ‘along the prom, prom, prom,’ because there isn’t one at Whitstable but ambling round the harbour and eating one delicious fish dish after another until it’s a wonder I haven’t grown gills. I had a good excuse for all this self-indulgent behaviour. When I haven’t been eating and meeting up with friends and being pampered rotten at the Continental Hotel, I’ve been researching for book 29, part of which, I’m setting in the town. This is cheating because I like the place very much and researching it means I’ve just got to go back several times during the next year!

So what have I been doing and what have I been seeing? Well for a start I spent a morning in an excellent primary school. The key words in the place are written over the entrance in splendid technicolour ‘Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self control’ and even if the words hadn’t been written down, you know almost at once that this is a school where staff and children are loving and encouraging to one another. Apart from taking notes, I joined in during one of the English lessons and answered questions that came thick, fast and intelligently from all quarters of the room. Great fun.

I visited the library (naturally), tried to visit a museum but it was closed – better luck next time – and had a great time in the Playhouse theatre, which is exactly what anyone could want in a local theatre, warm, welcoming and decorated in red and gold, like all the best Edwardian theatres. The young man who showed me round was much enamoured of it. And who could blame him. The frontage was splendidly Edwardian too, decorated in white, with one eye catching red poster right in the middle, advertising the next show. My bolshie heroine will simply have to go and work there. It’s too good to miss.

So now I’m home too full of fish to move and with my pen in my hand. The things we authors do for our art!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Oh, I do like to be beside the seaside!

  1. I went into the theatre on the off chance to see if it was open and yes I did see the pictures and was shown round by a boy who I think was called Sean. Thought very highly of you and quite right too! The school was the church school – Whitstable and Seasalter Endowed Junior School – one of my nieces works there – great place. If its OK perhaps we can take a long, leisurely exploration of the theatre next time I come down? Much love xx

    Like

  2. Sean, yes! He helped me find the cat! He’s a sweetie. And the Endowed is a great school, although none of mine went there, I know a lot of people who did, and another Lesley who taught there for years. Think she ended up as deputy head. Yes, next time we’ll be properly organised. xxx

    Like

  3. Beryl, isn’t research fun? That’s my favorite part of the writing process (along with the writing itself). I’ve done tons of research on the Aleutian Islands, but a trip there may no be possible. However, before moving out here to Missouri, I lived in a little town in Maine, near to York Harbor – my heavenly place. I spent much time there, soaking up the ocean air, walking own the boardwalk, etc…. such a wonderful place … and I have a cousin up there…. The thinking cap is on tight today.
    Yes, I was missing you -… glad you are well, and being pampered … oh the things we do for our art/craft! I’ll post some pictures on my blog later today!
    Your friend, Mary Latela @LatelaMary, mlatela@outlook,com

    Like

  4. Not sure you’ll find spare accommodation the next time you return to Whitstable after praising it so effusively here. Here. Good to know research can be so rewarding. Now, can anyone recommend a cheap ticket to the Asteroid Belt…?

    Like

Leave a Reply

